Dance with Depression: Interlude (With Artwork!)

So, it’s been 8 days since I left the hospital and 16 days since I was admitted. Feels like barely a day has gone by.

It’s also been several days since my last post, and I keep promising you more. Well, I’m nothing if not a man of my word (and words).

Dance With Depression: You didn’t think it was going to be that easy, did you?

Thing is, when you’ve spent almost four years slowly losing the will to livemthen suddenly find yourself infused with a clarity and urgency you’ve only heard about on kitschy and emotionally exploitative near-death experience specials your mother watches … you get surprisingly busy. There’s a lot of time to make up for. I’m technically ‘supposed’ to be in an aftercare program, basically a day-job for continued recovery, but my contacts at the hospital have yet to nail that down for me. My psychiatrist (whom I saw earlier today) suspects I may not even need it — I’m doing great! Frankly, the thought of having to go do that for several hours a day instead of all the job-hunting, flirting, working on myself, strengthening social and professional bonds, and writing I’ve been doing in the last week is a bit frustrating. I don’t want to have to put my shiny new life on hold just when it’s gaining momentum. I’m doing well, I’m in good hands, and I’m making progress every day — but it is work and it does eat up an awful lot of time and energy.

That’s enough about that for now. You’ve all been such good sports, reading and sharing Dance with Depression: Part I, that I want to show off an unexpected result of my hospital stay.

Art as Social Strategy

Turns out, time spent in a behavioral health unit can be prove a very good excuse to do a few sketches when you’ve been largely neglecting your art for a while. Not to mention drawing in public is one of my oldest tricks for getting people to come over and say “Oh that’s really good! Did you do that freehand??” Then I get to say “Shucks, yeah!” and start talking about comic books or dragons or just artwork in general. (Though sometimes I do want to say, “No, I bought Jack Kirby’s frozen hand on eBay and use it for all my art.”)

So here’s what I drew during my week of voluntary un-solitary confinement:

Hello Zephyr My Old Friend by Rickken on deviantART

Higher, Further, Faster, More Carol-er by Rickken on deviantART

You’re A Star, Carol by Rickken on deviantART

And the best Spider-Man I’ve ever managed — and I’ve been drawing ol’ Pete since I could hold a pencil:crouching_spider_hidden_____spider_man_by_rickken-d80i41i

Crouching Spider Hidden … Spider-Man by Rickken on deviantART

That’s all for today, folks. I hope you enjoy some of my doodles (there’s always my DeviantART page should you ever want to see more). As ever, any an all signal boosting is welcome.

With piss, vinegar, and marker-stained fingers,
– K

6 thoughts on “Dance with Depression: Interlude (With Artwork!)

  1. Shared as well.

    Art as therapy!

    I’m a huge proponent of that, which is why I think it should play a huge part of your near future. And far future.

    Can’t wait for the next one!

  2. Hey Kenrick, thanks for turning me on to these posts. When I last saw you, we were on a panel together, a panel in front of a large audience which left me far too shy to say more than the bare minimum. You, meanwhile, were literally bounding up stairs with a microphone in hand to engage the audience. At the time I admired how comfortable you were in front of a crowd. I thought you were quite brave. Now I realize this was only the beginning. Keep the 13,650,000 lumens coming!

    1. Thanks for reading, Phil. I look up to you, if you haven’t caught that drift yet, so it feels good just to know you’ve taken the time to read what I’ve been writing here.

      Not all days are easy days, but I’m still moving forward. I enjoyed our time on the panel — I love playing to a crowd, I just can’t do it all the time. Got to balance the showman with the delicate writerly constitution.

      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

